top of page

SOAR nominated for fRoots Critics Poll Album Of The Year 2018

It was announced this week that Catrin and Seckou’s album SOAR has been nominated for the fRoots Critics Poll Album of the Year 2018, the 33rd year of this prestigious award which is decided by a panel of industry experts drawn from all over the planet.

With hundreds of writers, broadcasters and activists on the panel, the fRoots Critics Poll For Albums Of The Year is long established as the most extensively researched and prestigious annual poll of its kind. Further information regarding the award can be found on the fRoots website:

It is the second nomination for Catrin and Seckou whose debut album, Clychau Dibon, won fRoots Critics Poll Album of the Year back in 2013.

Catrin and Seckou’s fellow nominees for the fRoots Critics Poll Album of the Year 2018 include: ANNA + ELIZABETH : The Invisible Comes To Us (Smithsonian Folkways); OLIVIA CHANEY : Shelter (Nonesuch); FATOUMATA DIAWARA : Fenfo: Something To Say (Montuno);  KITTY MACFARLANE : Namer Of Clouds (Proper); JACKIE OATES : The Joy Of Living (ECC); LISA O’NEIL : Heard A Long Gone Song (River Lea); THE RHEINGANS SISTERS : Bright Field (RootBeat); SANS : Kulku (Cloud Valley) and NORMA WATERSON & ELIZA CARTHY: Anchor (Topic).

10 views0 comments


bottom of page